The AIAS, ADC and AIGA, the Morpholio Project, along with Death By Architecture, congratulates the Pinup 2012: Student Competition Winners and Honorable Mentions. Pinup 2012 was assembled as a means to publically promote the research, exploration and investigation currently happening in academia. All of the submissions exemplified outstanding work and the competition organizers are grateful for the enormous amount of students who were bold enough to confront the world with their voice.

The proliferation of device culture, social networking, and cloud technology are changing the way we work, and connect on a daily basis. For designers, this means that technology is not only transforming the process of production, but also the processes through which we share, critique, and organize ourselves around the work we do. The competition is first, and foremost an experiment in distributed intelligence. By leveraging the “wisdom of crowds” every designer can see and understand how his or her work is experienced by others. It has been predicted that in 2020, there will be 50 billion mobile internet connections worldwide, the equivalent of seven devices per person. Thus, this competition is not simply about the existence of technology, but rather why and how we harness it as designers.

PinUp 2012 poses the following questions: What are the standards and aspirations by which we evaluate design today? In an increasingly networked culture, what makes a project capable of cutting through the virtual noise, and starting a new conversation? How do evolving forms of media affect the way in which your message reaches its destination? What is your message?

The competition challenges you to confront the world with your work. By sending it out into the field you will test yourself and your projects. You are the designer, the curator and the critic.

PinUp 2012 was assembled by professors and students for students as a means to publicly promote the research, exploration and investigation currently happening in academia. It is supported by the AIAS, ADC, AIGA and is hosted by The Morpholio Project. Sixteen Honorable Mentions will be selected as well as featured in the Morpholio Community and the winning entrant(s) will receive a Community area dedicated specifically to their University or School as a public forum for their work. We look forward to your participation.


Anthony Shung Yiu Ko
AA School of Architecture

Jonathan Choe
Illinois Institute of Technology

Tetyana Serafin
Norwalk Community College CT

Anna Pietrzak
University of Cincinnati

Honorable Mentions
Jason Khoo
Singapore Polytechnic

Ivorin Vrkas
School of Design Zagreb Croatia

Matilda Schuman
Lund School of Architecture

Junsheng Fu
Tsinghua SA

Ziba Esmaeilian

Tom Wilz
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Anesta Iwan
California College of the Arts

Dean Austin
Deakin Uni Australia

Chunxiao Xu
Tsinghua SA

Coralee Brin
University of Calgary

Hiromu Noir
TU Berlin

Trent Christensen
NYIT School of Architecture

Leave a Reply